Our Staff

The Steering Committee

This is MJAP’s supreme decision making organ. It provides the overall policy direction, fiscal accountability, and advocacy to ensure the sustainability of the program. It is also the staff appointing authority for MJAP.

  1. Chairman: Prof. Moses Kamya, Dean School of Medicine, Makerere College of Health Sciences (MakCHs)


  1. Dr. Doreen Mirabwa-Male  – Deputy Executive Director -Mulago Hospital
  2. Dr. Isaac Okullo Principal – Principal, Makerere College of Health Sciences
  3. Mr. Nicholas Mugumya – Finance & Accounting Expert
  4. Dr. Barigye Celestine -ED, Mbarara Hospital
  5. Dr. Stephen Watiti – Representative of people living with HIV
  6. Assoc. Prof. Samuel Maling-  Dean Faculty of Med.-MUST
  7. Assoc. Prof. Umar Kakumba –  Makerere University Senate, Deputy Vice-Chancellor – Academic Affairs
  8. Ms. Naome Kiconco – Makerere University Legal Unit
  9. Dr. Joshua Musinguzi –  Ministry of Health
  10. Dr. Nelson Musoba:  Uganda AIDS Commission
  11. Dr. Basangwa David ED-Butabika Hosp.
  12. Prof.William Bazeyo, Makerere University Council, Deputy Vice-Chancellor – Finance
  13. Dr. Zepher Karyabakabo – Representative, Uganda AIDS Commission

The Senior Management Team (SMT)

The Senior Management Team (SMT) is responsible for the leadership, strategy, and priorities of MJAP. They are charged with the delivery of the overall mission, program direction and for the day to day running of the program.
It is comprised of:

  1. Acting Executive Director and Program Manager: Dr. Dalsone Kwarisiima
  2. Dr. Fred C. Semitala – Technical Manager, Care & Treatment, MJAP
  3. Anne L. Nakaweesi: Human Resources Manager

Section Heads

  1. Finance and Administration Manager: Moses Adengo
  2. Laboratory Services Coordinator-IDI Grant: Edward Otim
  3. Prevention /HTS Coordinator: Jennifer Ngabirwe
  4. M&E Coordinator- Shadrack Wanyina
  5. VMMC- Coordinator: Dr.Sooka Robert
  6. Community Linkage Coordinator: Happy Walusaga
  7. Pharmacy Coordinator: Rogers Katwesigye
  8. ICT Officer: Abert Mugisha
  9. Administrative Officer: Rhonah Nakato